Molding Part #2

Hello Internet,

After somewhat failing with my 2 part molding the other day, I decided to find a new way and new product to help me accomplish this.  I went to a few hobby stores here in London, as well as some art stores to find the right thing.  As it turns out, the product I was originally told wasn’t available was in fact available, just not from the first guy I went to and so ended up picking up some Milliput, the superfine kind cause the owner talked me into finer stuff.

So I went about making a new mold, this time of a sword from the Games Day Fantasy Orc Warboss cause it’s a cool looking sword.  I began by getting two GW blister packages and took the plastic part off.  I softened some Instant Mold and put it on the bottom of the first blister then placed the sword down and used the second blister to press down the sword into the Instant Mold.  I then popped it into the freezer to harden the bottom.  This created the first half of the mold.  Once it was solid, I took some more Instant Mold and did the same thing and created the 2nd part of the mold but this time did not put it in the freezer.  Once it was all dry I ended with a pretty solid 2 piece mold, completely flat on both side and easy to press down using the blisters.  I made up some Milliput and placed it into the mold, and pressed on the top blister to squeeze the two together.

Best part about Milliput is that it only took 3 hours to dry so I was laughing instead of waiting 24 hours for Greenstuff.  By the end, i ended up with a perfectly good looking replica of the sword, and since Milliput is rock hard once dry, I don’t think i’ll ever have to worry about breaking this bad boy.

Now I tried to also use the Milliput to create the impressions for my shoulder pads, and it did work, but the excess is rock hard and I’m not unable to cut away at it.  So I’m thinking I’m going to need to continue to use Green Stuff for impression (besides bases or standalone items) as the Milliput is too hard to manipulate after 3 hours.  All in all, pretty successful test of the Milliput and new press molding technique.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

