Salamanders 2000pts Tournament

Hello Internet,

I have just started running the third official Tournament of Champs in my local area.  This is something I came up with while I was working at GW and was trying to get more people into the stores for vets night.  And might I say, it has definitely been a hit, so much so that I continue to run the event even though I no longer work there, and havn’t for over a year.  The tournament is scheduled for only on 40K vets nights, and is a sweet 16 style tournament with single elimination.  Now normally this style of tournament requires a ranking system, but we have instead done random draws for games.  The winner of the tournament in crowned Champ and is given the 40K Belt (much like a UFC/WWE belt but all 40k’d up).  It’s really cool and I plan on getting some photos up on here real soon.  So I thought I would share my 2000pts list for the tourny here, and see what you all think.

Vulkan He’stan
Librarian – Null Zone, Force Dome
Tactical Squad – Powerfist, Flamer, Multimelta, Rhino
Tactical Squad – Powersword, Combi-Melta, Flamer, Multimelta
Tactical Squad – Powerfist, Combi-Melta, Meltagun, Rocket Launcher, Razorback with TL Plasma/Lascannon
Assault Terminators – Hammers and Shields, Land Raider Redeemer with Extra Armour, Multimelta
Sternguard Squad – 6 Combi-Meltas, 4 Combi-Flamers, Drop Pod
Vindicator
Predator – heavy bolter sponsons

I played my first game on Thursday for the tourny and did really well.  As I mentionned in the last post about the sternguard, this is the first time I’ve used them really and I really enjoyed the way they worked out.  Vulkan ran with them in the drop pod, and slaughtered a tactical squad that decided to drop close by.  They ended up getting charged by Dante and a couple Sanguine Guard, and they held their own and kicked the crap outta Dante, even with nerfed Vulkan.  Was a great game for me, sour game for him.  Finished 8-3 in kill points.  Let me know what you think of the list.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

